The first couple of days - Reisverslag uit Mallow, Ierland van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu The first couple of days - Reisverslag uit Mallow, Ierland van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu

The first couple of days

Door: Lotte

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lotte

17 September 2016 | Ierland, Mallow

Four days ago I made my journey to Ireland. The drive to the airport went fine. Just some slow traffic at some points, but we got there in time. The check-in was done in 2 min, so we still had time to get STARBUCKSSSSS :D! Then I had to go through security, so the dreadful goodbye was there.
I have to say it wasn’t as bad as previous times. I think the fact that my parents and brother will be here in October made it easier.
I got in line and by the time I was through the detector, my bag was taking apart OFCOURSE. I had like 20 minutes before my flight left and I DID NOT have time for this. I had to take my laptop and camera out before it went through, but now it had to go again. The guy even asked me, ‘do you mind if I search your bag?’.. I was like YES! Give it to me! But of course it was a rhetorical question.
By the time he was done.. my whole bag was turned inside out and all my crap only fit in ONE WAY. So that was kinda stressful. On top of that the skin of my finger got stuck in the zipper, so that was fun.
I did make my flight and from that point on it was pretty much smooth sailing. I got on the bus in Dublin to the train station. I had about an hour before my train left. So I got a coffee (no Starbucks unfortunately) and a sandwich and just relaxed for a bit. The seat on the train was reserved. My name was actually in a display about the seat. So cool! The train itself was fine. I do have to say that the trains in the Netherlands make less noise and don’t shake as much. But for the 2 hours I had to be in there, it was good.

At the train station in Mallow, Katie (mom) and the 3 boys were waiting for me. So I had a really warm welcome. The ride over to the house was filled with questions from the kids and explanations and directions from Katie. So yeah I think I remember like 2 things she showed me with my awesome sense of direction. When arriving at the house, I just observed everything. Katie made dinner and we talked for a bit. Kevin (dad) wasn’t there, because he had to work. Someone found it necessary to rob someone.
My room here is huge! It has been totally taken over by my stuff, that is lying everywhere.

Wednesday morning I met Kevin, who is really nice as well. Even after a weird greeting. They kiss on the cheek once here. I know that now. Kevin had to go to work, but Katie had morning off. She showed me some things around the house and I played a little with the kids. The au pair from a family 2 houses down (Ayleen, 19 from Germany) came over with her kid and we went for a little walk around the block. That was nice! Although it was raining, so it wasn’t a long one.
In the afternoon Kevin was home and took me and the kids to his parents’ house and the grocery store. His parents were lovely as well. When we got back to the house, Kevin made dinner for the kids and I wanted to taste it. They had noodles and fish sticks. The noodles are kind of like the ones that you eat to eat something cheap. The kids love them, but Kevin thought is wasn’t enough for me to eat. So when he made dinner for Katie and himself, he made a little more for me as well. So mom, I’m well fed over here haha!

Thursday Katie and Kevin had the day off. In the morning we took the youngest 2 to a fundraiser brunch. They had scones and all kinds of lovely treats. It was really good! In the afternoon they went shopping and I stayed home with Connaill (middle child). He goes to school in the afternoon and the eldest is in school till 1.30 PM. So in the afternoon I had one child as well. Katie and Kevin were home before dinner and we had dinner together and just talked for a bit.

Friday was my first day all alone with the kids. The routine is still something to get used to, because the other days is wasn’t really routine. A ‘normal’ day would be:
- In the morning the kids have breakfast, made by Katie or Kevin.
- I walk the eldest Naouise (6) to the top of the hill, where he’s picked up for school. This day I took the other two with me as well. Naouise is dropped from school at home.
- Connaill (4) has school from 12.20 till 3.30. He is being picked up and dropped off from the house.
- Iarlaith (2) is the one I have the whole day, but he takes a nap in the afternoon.
- Naouise comes home around 1.45 PM from school and we do homework together. After that we play a little.
- I make dinner for the 3 of them around 5 PM and I can choose to have dinner with them or with the parents. Katie or Kevin cook in the evening for themselves, since the kids don’t really like that food haha. So we eat a little later, more like around 7 PM. I know everyone is thinking ‘OMG aren’t you hangry by then?’. No, because I eat an apple or something, so I get used to eating later than I do at home haha.
- When the parents are home my day is ‘done’. I usually stay down and just chat a little and have dinner.
In the evening I went to Mallow Castle and the movies with Ayleen. The castle was pretty and I made some nice pictures. The movies was fun as well! We went to see ‘Bridget Jones’ baby’. The cinema is kinda small but will do. Sanne and Rik, it’s not as good as the ones at home! The center of town is about 15 min walk from the house, so that is really nice! There are a lot of lights on the road, so mom don’t worry!
So the weekend has started good! The plans for the rest of the weekend aren’t set in stone yet, so that will be reported in the next update.

Thank you already for all the people checking in on me! I love all the messages and miss you loads! It was been an adjustment, but as my mommy would say ‘you wanted this!’.

XOXO

PS: The kids names phonetically are: Naouise – Niescha; Connaill – Connel; Iarlaith – Ierla
Haha that took some practice and a note in my phone as well!

  • 17 September 2016 - 17:54

    Felicia & Ton:

    Lieve Lotskie!

    wauw dat klinkt allemaal goed! Leuk om te lezen wat je allemaal al hebt meegemaakt.

    Veel liefs van ons!

  • 17 September 2016 - 23:38

    Liane:

    Hoi mop, wat leuk om te lezen! Fijn dat je zo goed ontvangen bent en al contact met een andere au-pair hebt. Is toch leuker om samen dingen te doen!
    En fijn om te horen dat het veilig is met oversteken!
    Het begin is gemaakt

  • 17 September 2016 - 23:39

    Liane:

    Niet alles was geplaatst. Geniet en de foto's zien er goed uit!
    Liefs, Coco moeti

  • 18 September 2016 - 00:31

    Sandra:

    Lotte; wat een leuke start bij dit gezin. Ik hoop dat je je snel " thuis" voelt en mooie ervaringen hebt. Ik zal je blog volgen om een beetje jouw avontuur mee te beleven. Have fun sweety!

  • 18 September 2016 - 10:38

    Riet:

    Ha Lotte,
    Leuk kennis te maken met Irish familie en gewoontes.Namen van de kinderen zijn echt Iers/Keltisch. Klejnzkkn van Maggie en Christopher heet Roary, zo spreek je het uit, weet niet hoe ik het moet schrijven. KeiGoed om te lezen dat je hartelijk ontvangen bent. Aupair tijd van Stephanie in België was verschrikkelijk, ik heb haar toen weggehaald. Wij hebben plannen om een chalet te kopen aan de Zeeuwse kust en hebben de afgelopen dagen rondgekeken op verschillende plekken en zijn naar een chaletbouwer geweest die de mooiste chalet heeft getekend maar die ook erg duur was. Erg leuk om naar uit te kijken en als we er een hebben dan ben je natuurlijk welkom! Heb je al guinisse gedronken? De eerste slok is tasting the sool, Irishman zegt dat.
    Lotte, veel plezier en tot de volgende update, liefs Riet

  • 18 September 2016 - 20:44

    Marieke:

    Schattige kiddo's! Veel plezier daar!

  • 18 September 2016 - 21:06

    Henriëtte :

    Ha Lotte, het begin is gemaakt !
    Zo te lezen was het een fijne start en dan al snel contact gemaakt met een andere o pair. Heel gezellig.
    Ja die Ierse namen hebben een hele andere uitspraak; weer ik nog van kinderen bij ons op school.
    Succes morgen met je eerste volle "werkweek!"
    Lieve groetjes uit Berg

  • 18 September 2016 - 22:19

    Marie-Jose:

    Ha Lotte,

    Wat een fijne ontvangst.
    Dat is een goed begin en dat is het halve werk.

    Komende week veel succes en leuk dat je contact hebt met andere au-pairs.

    Groetjes uit Heerlen

  • 18 September 2016 - 23:06

    Lobke :

    Lotttttttte!!!!!! Mooie foto's! Leuk reisverslag!!!!! Lijkt me toch een volle zware dag..... En pas om 7 eten, poeh, dan begint je avond vrij wel laat. Maar ik lees dat je een warm ontvangst heb gehad en dat het goed voelt. En tuurlijk is t nog ff wennen;) logisch ook. Zou zo leuk zijn als ik je kan opzoeken. Had zelf gedacht ergens in januari?

    Geniet er nog van!!!!!!

    Xxx

  • 22 September 2016 - 18:46

    Danielle:

    Hoi Lotte,

    Wat zien de kinderen er schattig uit!
    Ik wens je een hele fijne tijd in Ierland met veel nieuwe ervaringen.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lotte

Nog een keertje als au-pair werken! Dit keer gaat het in Malow, Ierland gebeuren. Van 13 september 2016 tot min. maart 2017.

Actief sinds 08 Sept. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 376
Totaal aantal bezoekers 15320

Voorgaande reizen:

13 September 2016 - 13 Maart 2017

Au-pair in Mallow

Landen bezocht: