A lot to tell - Reisverslag uit Mallow, Ierland van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu A lot to tell - Reisverslag uit Mallow, Ierland van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu

A lot to tell

Door: Lotte

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lotte

13 November 2016 | Ierland, Mallow

31-10 – 13-11

Halloween is a bank holiday here, so I was off. I chilled a bit, did some laundry and at 5 I went to the gym. Around 4.30 I went to a family friend’s house with Katie and the kids for trick or treat. Naoise was Harry Potter, Conaill a bat and Iarlaith was a lion. They looked really cute! After training I made myself dinner, had a shower and watched a lame horror movie.

Tuesday I went to Cork by myself. I took the bus at 10.40 and went to Penny’s (primark) first. I thought it wouldn’t be busy. I was wrong. I also bought some souvenirs, earrings and went to Starbucks of course. I went back to Mallow around 4.30 and watched some Netflix the rest of the evening.

Wednesday, Thursday and Friday I had to work. The kids were on holiday from school, so I had all three all day. The days were filled with walks, the playground, arts and crafts, playing with the Lego and making forts. The evenings were filled with making pancakes for dinner for the kids and Kevin and Katie (they loved them :D), going to the au pair meeting, seeing ‘Doctor Strange’ with Ayleen and going to the gym with Tadgh.

The weekend came very quickly this week. I didn’t do much in the morning. In the afternoon I met Lara, Patricia and Marine at the bus station at 4.40. We were going to Cork. When we got to Cork, we went to the hostel Lara, Marine and I were staying in first to drop off our bags. After that we went for dinner at Nando’s. It was a nice restaurant. The waiter did forget to mention to us that you order and pay at the register, so we were waiting for a while. Then one of the other hostesses came over (probably because of our confused looks) and explained it to us haha. Dinner was good and after we waited for Claudia. Patricia and Claudia booked a room together in a different hostel and Patricia needed to drop her bag off. While she was doing that, Lara, Marine and I went to the Nightmare Realm. I was so excited for it!! It wasn’t as busy there as it was in Dublin, which was actually nice. We went in with another couple, they went in front. The realm was divided into 4 floors, all in a hostel setting. I laughed my ass of the whole time. Marine was right behind the couple, then me and Lara behind me. She was holding onto my jacket to tightly, a couple of times she almost knocked me over. It’s safe to say she got scared a couple of times. There were some really cool elements:
- One part we got a flashlight to light the way. The guy in front had it and there was a moment it wasn’t working. Marine was not to happy about that and started screaming where the light was. This was for like 2 minutes haha.
- There was a part that was lighted poorly and there was a rope on the ceiling that you had to hold onto to find your way. Because of the darkness and the fear of people jumping out at you, Lara pushed me into some walls. Writing it down like this, it sounds hilarious (which in hindsight it was)
I got the picture in the end again, because it perfectly represented the way we went through the Nightmare Realm. You can see the picture below. After the realm, and I dropped the picture off at the hostel, we met up with Patricia and Claudia and went to a bar. We were lucky that most of us were over 21, so Lara (19) could get in as well. We got in and it was packed! There was a rugby match on and Ireland won! It was funny to see how excited the people were. I was informed after that Ireland hadn’t won from New Zealand in a long time, so they were excited haha. The music in the bar was good, little bit of everything, so we ended up staying there the whole time. We met some other au pairs as well and had a really fun night! We were back at the hostel, after a quick stop at McDonalds, around 4 AM.

On Sunday we went for breakfast around 10.30 AM. Patricia and Claudia met us there. We talked about the previous night, had some coffee, eggs and bacon and Lara, Patricia and I took the bus around 1.30 PM back to Mallow. The rest of the day I chilled, watched some shows. Katie and I both weren’t in the mood to cook, so she ordered food at Soos (asian fusion restaurant) and it was really good. We talked for a bit and I watched some more tv after that haha.

New week! Monday I had to work from 12 till 7. I was off Tuesday and Wednesday and due to not so fun circumstances so was Ayleen (the baby she is minding got sick). We went to lunch and did some shopping in Mallow. On Wednesday we went to see ‘Trolls’ in the cinema… at 2 PM!! :O such rebels! It is an awesome movie btw, so if you haven’t seen it yet, it is definitely worth the money. In the evening we went to the au pair meeting again. It was fun, there were some new people there.

Thursday I worked from 9 to 5, amazing times right haha! In the evening I went to see Tommy Tiernan, an Irish comedian, with Ayleen. We were a little curious about how much we would understand. I have to say it was about 70-80%, so that was good. Katie dropped us off and collected us, which was super nice! We had fun, it was a fun evening!
On Friday I worked from 9-5 again. In the evening I went to the gym. This time at 9.30. Yes, 9.30. Voluntarily. It is getting insane right? It was a good work-out!

And then… Saturday… I went to Cork with Ayleen and Nathalie at 9.40, because at 11 we had an appointment.. at… ADHD TATTOO SHOP! YES I got a tattoo! I was super nervous. It was really the getting the tattoo part, but the ‘how much will it hurt’-part. Ayleen was getting one as well, so I insisted that I go first. I didn’t want to wait haha. The guy that did mine was so nice! He explained everything and tried to calm me down a bit. But it wasn’t working. I was just so nervous for the needle, that nothing would work until he actually started. I closed my eyes for the first part, as you will see on the picture. After the first few minutes I could actually smile again haha. It wasn’t really painful, it was more annoying. It took about 20 minutes and I was done! See the result below! The meaning is 'fortitude' (strenght of mind that allows one to endure pain or adversity with courage). Ayleen wanted a small one behind her ear, so she was done in like 2 min.
After the tattoo we went to Gwen’s crepes restaurant. I had one with chocolate and ice cream and it was really good! We went into a few shops as well, I got some DVD’s and after a Starbucks break, we went back to Mallow. I really wanted to try this pizza place in Mallow, so we ordered some pizza’s there. We had them at my house. They were really good! Also we played some card games, which was hilarious. There were five of us; Ayleen, Nathalie, Lara, Patricia and myself. A lot of nationalities and a lot of different rules. I ended up writing them down, so those were the ones we were using haha.
Katie, Kevin and the kids weren’t there, but they came home around 9. So they met the kids and all of them were like ‘ahwwww’. It also helped that Naoise and Iarlaith came in and gave me a hug. Such cuties! Nathalie and I ended up going to Alberts for a bit, because her host mom was picking her up later. The rest went home before that. I think I went to bed around 12.

Sunday was a lazy day. I had lunch with Ayleen at Costa, tidied up my room a bit, watched some Netflix and Ayleen came over to watch a movie in the evening. Nice lazy Sunday!

There you have it folks! Leave comments below haha!

XO

  • 13 November 2016 - 20:27

    Henriette:

    Nou Lotte weer een heel verhaal.
    Maar zo te lezen, genoeg plezier. En dan jij een tattoo; gedurfd hoor.
    Geen last er van gehad?
    Wens je weer fijne weken en kijk uit naar je volgende bericht.
    Liefs uit Berg

  • 13 November 2016 - 23:51

    Riet:

    Ha die Lotte,
    Je hebt een paar leuke vriendinnen waar je veel kleiner mee hebt.
    Stoer je tatto, ga je er meer nemen?
    Hier alles o.k. Ik ben door een columnist van AD voorgedragen voor de verkiezing Dordtenaar van het jaar. Ik voel me vereerd, reden is dat ik veel bezig ben met armoedebestrijding.
    Met de kerst hebben we bungalow gehuurd in Zeeland net de duinen als achtertuin. Even sfeer proeven met het oog op kopen chalet.
    Nu veel plezier en tot volgende keer.






  • 15 November 2016 - 18:56

    Marie-Jose:

    Hallo Lotte,
    Weer van alles beleefd zo te lezen.Werk, gezellige dingen doen en zelfs gewaagde dingen.
    Doet zoiets geen enorme pijn, brrttt.
    Weer op naar een volgend avontuur
    Groetjes uit Heerlen

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lotte

Nog een keertje als au-pair werken! Dit keer gaat het in Malow, Ierland gebeuren. Van 13 september 2016 tot min. maart 2017.

Actief sinds 08 Sept. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 359
Totaal aantal bezoekers 15353

Voorgaande reizen:

13 September 2016 - 13 Maart 2017

Au-pair in Mallow

Landen bezocht: