Newest addition! - Reisverslag uit Mallow, Ierland van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu Newest addition! - Reisverslag uit Mallow, Ierland van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu

Newest addition!

Door: Lotte

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lotte

30 November 2016 | Ierland, Mallow

14-11 tm 27-11

New week! Monday was the usual.
Tuesday wasn’t very eventful for me, but Katie went to the hospital around 9 to get the newest edition to the family. Around 4.30 she called and it’s a girl! The first one in the family! Her name is Fíadh (pronunciation: Fia). Everything went well and both mother and daughter were good. The kids had some nice responses to the news. Conaill first went ‘noooooo’ to the fact it’s a girl and both Naoise and Conaill both weren’t fond of the name. Princess Holly would be better. Iarlaith was more excited to hear his mama on the phone, than the fact he had a baby sister. Around 6 PM Kevin’s mother Frances came over. I had dinner in front of the tv upstairs and went to the gym around 9.

Katie was coming home on either Saturday or Sunday, so I worked the rest of the week. It was pretty much the ususal: played with the lego, went for a walk, did some arts and crafts and around 6PM Frances would come over and I’d be off.
On Wednesday I went to the au pairs meeting in Alberts, which was fun. On Thursday Ayleen came over and we watched ‘the Hobbit: the desolation of smaug’. Friday I went with the kids to Frances’ house for dinner and went to ‘Fantastic Beasts and where to find them’ in the cinema with Ayleen. Awesome movie! Ayleen and I totally geeked out with that one.

Saturday Katie and Fiadh were coming home, but I didn’t know exactly what time. Kevin and the kids stayed over at the parents house, so they were back around 10.30AM. I got up around 10 and had some breakfast. I watched the kids until 3.30PM. Iarlaith went with Kevin to the hospital, so I had Conaill and Naoise. We were all really excited to see them. So around 3.30 they were here. Even though I always say babies look kinda ugly, she was okay haha. I made a sign with Naoise on Friday and Kevin and Katie really liked it! We hung it on the window, so they would see it when they got home. We had some prosecco to celebrate and at 4.30 I took the train to Killarney with Ayleen, Patricia, Lara, Elise and Nathalie. We went to the hostel first to drop our bags and went to dinner at an Italian restaurant called Milano’s. First stop was this Lord of the Rings themed pub called ‘the Shire’. Ayleen and I NEEDED to go there, so that’s what we did haha. I really enjoyed it. There were quotes on the wall, little hobbit doors on the bottom of the walls and drinks inspired by LOTR. I had Gandalf ale, which was okay, and a Ginli (gin and tonic). At one point there was a guy dressed as Gollum, who you could take pictures with. Obviously we took some with him haha.
After that we walked around for a bit to find another pub. We heard ‘Galway girl’ coming from one and decided to go into there. It turned out to be a good decision. The pub in the front was good and there was a nightclub in the back, even better! So we stayed there the whole night. We stayed until closing, got a pizza and ate that in the hostel. We went to bed around 4 I think haha. Good night. Good night!

Sunday we got up around 8.30 and went for breakfast at Gloria Jean’s. I needed some decent coffee. We stayed there for a bit, walked around a little, Ayleen and I bought the Fantastic Beasts books and around 1.30PM we took the train back to Mallow. We all had a sandwich at Subway and after Ayleen and I walked home. I watched some tv and had dinner with Kevin and Katie in the evening. They ordered food at Soos again and it’s so jummy! It’s an Asian fusion restaurant.

The first week of working when Katie and Fiadh were home, was a little strange. Although I thought it would be. But it turned out fine! Katie took some naps during the day, so my day looked pretty much the same as before. Also Fiadh’s cry isn’t so loud, which is really nice, so I don’t hear it at night. Good for me, Katie might think differently haha. Around 11.45AM an obstetric nurse (kraamhulp) came by and had a talk with Katie. I could just stay there, so it was fascinating what they asked. I shall not get into detail, but I might think twice about getting my own haha.
The rest of the week was pretty normal. I was off on Wednesday and worked out in the afternoon with Tadgh.

This weekend we decided to go to Galway. We took the bus at 11 and with we I mean Ayleen, Lara, Marine, Elise, Nathalie and I. There was a Christmas market in Galway that I wanted to see. After the hostel we went there. It was nice and gave you that nice Christmas feeling. We walked around a little after that and went to the escape room we had booked. Elise came up with the idea and I was obviously totally on board. The others needed some convincing, but we got to do it in the end. The room was Sherlock Holmes themed and we got out in 38 min. Not bad right?! After this we went to dinner at a pub. Lara, Ayleen, Nathalie and I had to go back to the hostel, because we couldn’t check in yet before. We had some drinks at the hostel and went into town after this. We didn’t get a chance to meet up with Elise and Marine (they were in another hostel), so partied on our own. We went to Coyote first (yes, Coyote Ugly themed) and 2 other pubs after. Lara and I ended up in McDonalds and were in bed around 3AM.
We met up with the rest on Sunday morning after a nice breakfast in town. We walked around for a bit. There was this island that you can get to by walkway, so we walked there. It wasn’t open to public, but the view was nice. I finaly got to see the inside of St. Nicholas’ Collegiate Church. It has some interesting obituaries on the walls. It was kinda funny to read. We got the bus back around 3. The bus took about 3 hours, so I was finally able to finish ‘the Rosie project’. Katie had cooked dinner for me, so that was really nice! I just watched some Gilmore Girls in the evening.

Hope you enjoyed reading it and don’t be shy to comment !

XO

  • 30 November 2016 - 13:55

    Marie-Jose:

    Ha Lotte,
    Wat een lief baby'tje zeg.
    Leuk een meisje na al die jongens.
    In huis zeker druk, kraamvisites?
    Of doen ze dat daar niet.
    Die engerd die jou op de foto vasthoudt, kom ik liever zo 'savonds niet tegen.
    Genoeg ontspanning ook zo te lezen.
    Tot het volgende verslag.
    Groetjes uit Heerlen,

  • 30 November 2016 - 19:10

    Marieke:

    Nóg een kiddo erbij...nu heb je bijna een volle klas daar :)

  • 30 November 2016 - 19:21

    Henriette:

    Gelukkig een gezonde baby. En dan nu een meisje; leuk hoor.
    Verder ga je veel op stap en beleef je genoeg zo te lezen.Een kerstmarkt is altijd gezellig.
    Nou veel succes met de familie daar en plezier met de andere dames.
    Groetjes uit Berg, de Muldrianen xxx

  • 30 November 2016 - 21:46

    Liane:

    Nou mop, dat ziet er allemaal goed uit!
    Je wordt een echte nachtbraker :)! Gelijk heb je, geniet ervan!
    Xoxo moeti

  • 01 December 2016 - 17:48

    Danielle:

    Hoi Lotte,

    Sorry dat ik lang niks meer van me heb laten horen. Druk, druk, druk.
    Een baby erbij en allemaal leuke kerstversieringen, dat zijn allemaal leuke dingen.
    Wat gaat de tijd toch snel he!
    Ik wens je nog veel plezier met alles.
    Liefs Danielle

  • 14 December 2016 - 08:51

    Lobke Goes Ireland In January :

    Hee Lotte!!!

    Lobke hier vanuit Thailand! Netje laatste blog gelezen! Ga d'r straks wat meer terug lezen. Leuk zeg!!!! Maarre, word jij nu niet ingezet als soort van kraamhulp? Of is dat niet de bedoeling?
    Je hebt t volgens mij echt super naar je zin he!!! En die foto's zijn zooooo leuk!

    Verheug me nu al op januari!


    Xxxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lotte

Nog een keertje als au-pair werken! Dit keer gaat het in Malow, Ierland gebeuren. Van 13 september 2016 tot min. maart 2017.

Actief sinds 08 Sept. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 314
Totaal aantal bezoekers 15351

Voorgaande reizen:

13 September 2016 - 13 Maart 2017

Au-pair in Mallow

Landen bezocht: