More adventures. Most impressive:Wicklow Mountains - Reisverslag uit Mallow, Ierland van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu More adventures. Most impressive:Wicklow Mountains - Reisverslag uit Mallow, Ierland van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu

More adventures. Most impressive:Wicklow Mountains

Door: Lotte

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lotte

05 April 2017 | Ierland, Mallow

21-3 tm 6-4

On Tuesday I had Fiadh today as well, so the walks take a little longer haha. Iarlaith has a ‘I’m tired’-fase half way. It’s always interesting to see how I can get him to walk home. So far holding my hand has done the trick. This does make for a sight: Conaill walking alone on the path telling stories, Iarlaith holding my hand and walking/running/tripping and then Fiadh in the buggy without a care in the world, while I push it with one hand. Can you invision it? It probably looks kinda funny. In the afternoon Conaill and Naoise went to Crossfit with Kevin. Iarlaith was very upset he couldn’t go, so I wasn’t able to go downtown. But there is nothing a biscuit and some TV can’t fix haha. In the evening I watched some TV myself.

Wednesday, Fiadh was joining me today again. I went for a walk again this morning. When Katie came home with Naoise, she had the idea to go to Costa for a bit. I obviously didn’t object and it was lovely. Katie got me a latte AND a chocolate muffin and I could handle the world again haha. In the evening I went to Alberts for one drink. I wasn’t feeling that well, so I didn’t want to stay long. Because Katie has football practice on Wednesday’s now, she was able to drop Patricia and me off at Alberts (so nice! Especially because it was raining).

On Thursday morning I went for a walk with Conaill, Iarlaith, Fiadh, Patricia and Michael. Patricia is the new au pair in Ayleen’s family and today we finally managed to go for a walk together. We walked around Castlepark. Katie took Fiadh in the afternoon and the rest of the day went by as always.

Friday I was off, because the family was going to Dublin for the weekend. They left early afternoon. I walked around town for a bit in the morning and enjoyed having the house to myself the rest of the day. I ordered Apache, feeling like a total badass! Patrice came over to watch a movie in the evening.

Then the weekend came. This time on the agenda were the Wicklow Mountains!! I rented a car in Cork, at the airport. There were some glitches, because the busses were on strike since Friday. Luckily the trains were going, so we got to Cork. We did have to get a taxi to the airport. The next glitch was that I have a limit on my credit card, this is no news. That I can’t ‘freeze’ €1600 on it for the rental company was. So we were forced to get the extra insurance, so we didn’t need the €1600. When we got to the car, the next little glitch came. The car I wanted was a VW Polo. I know that there is the ‘and similar’, but I really hoped for that one. We got a Skoda Citigo. Google it. It really looks like a bumper car! BUT.. it did get us there haha. I took a lap around the parking lot first, just to get used to driving again. And.. yeah.. the whole driving on the left thing. I got used to it really quickly again haha. The first roundabout was a little hard though. First I have to explain that it has not 4, but 5 exits. This already makes it hard. Even when I told Katie that I drove wrong the first time on that roundabout, she said that it’s a HORRIBLE roundabout. It’s famous for its terribleness! It’s Kinsale Road roundabout, not that the name means anything to you guys haha. Anywho.. we got going and our first stop was in 2 hours. Luckily I brought some CD’s, so we started immediately with Trolls!!!! We stopped at the Rock of Cashel, which is this beautiful cathedral with amazing views. The sun was shining, which made everything SOO much better! After some pictures and a walk around, we went down the hill again and had a lovely ice cream. It was one of those soft ones. That always reminds me of the trips to the Makado, that always ended with one of those ice creams with sprinkles. We went on our way and our next stop was our accommodation in Laragh. The drive to it was so beautiful. Now I didn’t see that much of it, to be honest. I was minding the road, which was narrow. And since no one wanted to plummet to their death, I didn’t take my eyes of the road. We arrived at the lodge in one piece. The only bump in the way there was a speed bump I kinda saw too late. No harm done though haha. The lodge was in Laragh, 5 min from Glendalough. It was nice! The only downside to the view, was that they were painting the deck. So we couldn’t actually see all of its glory, because from the windows you only saw trees. After settling into our rooms, we went out for dinner. We went to this fancy place. We had to sit outside, because it was so busy and we didn’t have a reservation. It was doable with the heating lamps and the blankets. The food I got was kinda meh. It wasn’t worth the €30 I paid for it. I had salmon with vegetables, coke, baileys cheesecake and a latte. Sounds pretty good right? It wasn’t really haha. I did have a good time with the girls. We went to the lodge after and chilled in Barbara and Ana’s room. We went over the agenda for the next day and just talked. Apparently we talked so ‘loud’ that someone complained. One of the owners came to the door at 11PM (not even that late like) and asked us if we could ‘be quiet’. We were just talking.. but SURE! We called it a night around 11.30PM. On Sunday we went to Glenmacness waterfall, Sally Gap, Powerscourt Estate and Lake Tay (better known as Guinness Lake, since it looks like a pint of Guinness). We took our time and stopped regularly for pictures. The last stretch Laurel drove. Because of the insurance we had to take, she was allowed to drive as well. It was nice to enjoy the scenery a little more. At one point though we were riding the zero for a bit. What’s life without a little excitement? We made it to a petrol station obviously, without pushing haha. We got to Cork at 6 and were home in Mallow around 8. It was a really nice weekend!!

New week!
On Monday I only had to work from 16.30 to 18.30, so I slept in a little. I went downtown for a bit and basically relaxed the whole day. Those 2 hours flew by, especially because dinner is in that time.
Tuesday to Thursday were normal days, 10 to 18.30.
Friday I was off! So I decided to go to Cork for the day. I worked out first at 8.30. After that Katie offered to drive me to the train station. The busses were still on strike and we didn’t know if the trains were joining in as well. So she was sweet enough to offer to drive, so I didn’t have to walk half an hour. Gotta love her! They were going, so I was able to go to Cork. It was a lovely day. I went to Starbucks first OF COURSE haha and did some shopping. It was nice to be able to just walk around without a specific purpose. I went back around 5. I had dinner with the family and in the evening Patricia came over to watch a movie. This time it was ‘Dirty Grandpa’. It wasn’t really a comedy. Not the best choice.

This weekend I decided to try and save some money and stayed in Mallow. On Saturday I went downtown, walked around for a bit with Patricia and in the evening I went to the movies. Patricia and Laurel joined me for ‘Chips’. It was a good laugh! We went for a drink in Alberts after.
On Sunday I slept in a bit and watched some Netflix. I started ‘Thirteen reasons why’, which had to be bingewatched a bit haha. I went to dinner at Bella’s around 7 with Patricia, Laurel and Hannah.

Another week!
Monday started a little earlier this time, at 9 haha. Katie took Iarlaith for an Xray, so I had Conaill and Fiadh. I couldn’t go for a walk unfortunately due to the rain. So we played with the Lego a bit and had a photo shoot. Katie took Conaill to school, so dropped Iarlaith off here. In the afternoon she took Naoise shoe shopping and took Iarlaith with her, so I had Fiadh. At 5 I had all of them haha. Nothing really exciting in the evening, just watched some Netflix.

Tuesday is normally Crossfit day, but Katie went shopping with her mom so that wasn’t happening. Conaill stayed over at a family friend’s house until dinner. Naoise went to a friend’s house after his homework. Fiadh was dropped at another family friend’s house in the morning, because they wanted to mind the little precious. So this meant I had Iarlaith for most of the day alone. I had some good laughs!

On Wednesday Conaill went to Naoise’s school in the morning for introductions. Katie took Fiadh, so I only had Iarlaith in the morning. In the afternoon Joey, a kid from down the street, came over for a bit. The rest of the day was pretty uneventful. I didn’t go to Alberts, not really feeling it.

Thursday was very normal as well haha. The day flew by!

Thanks again for taking the time to read my blog! And don’t be shy to respond below !
XOXO

  • 05 April 2017 - 16:30

    Liane:

    Hoi meisje,
    Weer leuke verhalen en mooie foto's! THE Wicklow Mountains staan ook nog op mijn lijstje.
    Leuk dat je door een ijsje herinneringen van vroeger krijgt.
    Geniet nog maar lekker van de familie en die schattige kindjes! En natuurlijk van alle plannen die nog gaan gebeuren!
    Liefs uit Berg, xoxo moeti

  • 05 April 2017 - 22:16

    Marieke:

    Ziet er mooi uit, die bergen. En leuke kleine ferrari :) Veel plezier nog!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lotte

Nog een keertje als au-pair werken! Dit keer gaat het in Malow, Ierland gebeuren. Van 13 september 2016 tot min. maart 2017.

Actief sinds 08 Sept. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 372
Totaal aantal bezoekers 15355

Voorgaande reizen:

13 September 2016 - 13 Maart 2017

Au-pair in Mallow

Landen bezocht: