Just week nr. 2 - Reisverslag uit Mallow, Ierland van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu Just week nr. 2 - Reisverslag uit Mallow, Ierland van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu

Just week nr. 2

Door: Lotte

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lotte

25 September 2016 | Ierland, Mallow

The first weekend here in Mallow was pretty good. On Saturday I finally put all my stuff in the closet, which is huge. It looks like I didn’t really bring anything haha. I know, interesting start right? But it gets better. I went into town for a bit, which is a 15 min walk. Just walked around and see what kind of stores Mallow has. I found a lot of cafes, restaurants, 3 supermarkets, various clothes stores, a game store, a book store and Costa! Costa is a different brand, but you can compare it to Starbucks.
I sat down in Costa for a bit and read a little before heading back to the house. In the evening I had some leftover Chili that Kevin made and watched Netflix. A chill Saturday!

Sunday started with just relaxing as well. Katie asked me if I wanted to go to her mother’s house for lunch, so I did that. Her mom is just as nice as her and I laughed a lot. I like the humor of the Irish already haha! In the evening I went to dinner with Ayleen. We had plans to check out a restaurant, but lunch was a little much, so it became McDonalds. Yes Mallow has a McDonalds, I was shocked too! After that we went to the movies again, this time it was ‘Sausage party’. Ayleen thought it was a kids movie, so she was surprised when the sign of 16 came onto the screen. It was a weird movie! I wouldn’t recommend watching it in cinema’s, but just at home. We did have fun nonetheless.

The first full week! Or so I thought… Turns out that Kevin had some days off during the week depending on his shifts. This meant that I had Monday, Tuesday AND Wednesday off. Monday turned out to be laundry day. I have a drying rack for my room, so that I can dry my laundry there. I went into town for a bit as well. I bought the new Harry Potter!!!! Also convenient that my brother wants to read it, so that is going home in his suitcase! I also sat in a café called Bellagio for some coffee and read a little. Rest of the day was uneventful.

Tuesday I decided to go do something. So CORK it was! I took the bus at 11.40 and arrived in Cork about 45 min later. First impression was good. The city is not that big, but I am really thankful for the phone the family provided (WITH internet, hello google maps!). I went to the English Market, which is as you guessed it a market. After that I walked around for a bit and stumbled upon some things. One of those was an information center. I took folders of everything that I thought looked interesting, so the research for next trips can begin. I also found a Starbucks!!! So I spend some time there, drinking coffee, eating cake and reading the 3rd book of Dan Brown. I took the bus home around 5 and watched some Netflix at the house in the evening.

Wednesday started off with good intentions. There is a walk around here, by the river, that is supposed to be really nice. So I thought let’s do that. I woke up and HELLO RAIN! And not a little bit, so that plan fell in the water haha, had to do it! It rained pretty much the whole day, so I went into town for a bit and went to the au pair night in the pub. It was fun! Some people that were there last week, were there again. So you’re kind of past the pleasantries and that makes talking a little easier. I got home around 11.30 PM.

Thursday I had to work from 9 AM to 1 PM. Kevin had to go to court, otherwise I would have had the whole day off. It was an uneventful morning. I went for a walk with Iarlaith and Conaill, we drew for a bit, Conaill had to go to school at 12.20 and Iarlaith went for a nap soon after. Kevin got home about 15 min after I put Iarlaith down for a nap. I met with a personal trainer in the afternoon. YES a personal trainer! I told Kevin that I was thinking about doing that for the time I was here and he recommended a guy he knew from crossfit. His name is Tadgh, which again I have no idea how to pronounce. He was very nice and easy to talk to. I start on Monday! So we’ll see how that goes haha, cause I have no idea what it entails exactly.

Friday I had to work from 8 AM till 6 PM. It was a long day haha. I just realized that is has been the 2nd FULL day I’ve had, so can’t really complain! In the evening I just watched some Netflix.

THE WEEKEND! I went to Kinsale on Saturday with Ayleen and Nathalie (another au pair that lives in Castle Park). Since it was raining so hard (code yellow for a storm, so that’s nice), we decided to take a bus later. We went at 10.40 and arrived in Kinsale about 12 o’clock. Even though we have only met twice, we had enough to talk about haha and there were no awkward silences. When we got out of the bus in Kinsale the rain had stopped!! We walked around for a bit, had some lunch, went into some shops, had a coffee and took some pictures. Kinsale is nice to see, but not really that special. It was a fun time though! We took the bus back around 5 in Kinsale. We went to the Lidl (that is here as well and with 2 Germans unevitable) and got some supplies for dinner. We made it at Nathalie’s house, because her host family was gone for the weekend. Ayleen and I went home around 9 and I watched some TV the rest of the night. The family has something called ‘SKY’, so I can still watch my shows up to date :D! And because my host family was away to a christening, I was home alone as well.

Sunday I offered to watch Iarlaith for a bit, because they had another christening and it would be better if he didn’t have to walk around there the whole time. I minded him from 12 till about 4. I went into the town with him in the buggy, which was not as easy as I thought it would be. It’s a lot of going up and down. After Kevin took Iarlaith to the christening as well, I watched some TV, cooked dinner and worked on this blog. I’m going to ‘the Magnificent Seven’ tonight with Ayleen and Nathalie. So all and all, a good weekend!

Thank you everyone for the responses to my blog!! It’s always fun to read !

XOXO

  • 25 September 2016 - 22:26

    Marie-Jose:

    Hallo Lotte,

    Dat was een rustige start zo te lezen.
    In ieder geval ook tijd gehad om al wat van de omgeving te zien.
    Het plaatsje heeft ook nogal wat winkels zo te lezen.
    En al aan de kinderen gewend.
    Leuk dat contact met andere au-pairs.
    Op naar week drie........veel succes!
    Groetjes uit Heerlen

  • 26 September 2016 - 10:18

    Dad:

    Al veel ondernomen en leuke contacten met andere aupairs. Ben benieuwd naar je afgetrainde body wanneer we in oktober komen.
    Greetz,
    Dad

  • 26 September 2016 - 14:08

    Mam:

    Weer leuk om je blog te lezen! Je hebt zo tijd om alles op je gemak te verkennen. Maar het belangrijkste is dat het aardige mensen zijn!
    Succes vanavond!
    Xoxo moeti

  • 26 September 2016 - 19:04

    Daniëlle :

    Hoi Lotte,
    Zo te lezen bevalt het goed! Heel veel plezier!
    Groetjes.

  • 26 September 2016 - 19:43

    Brigitte :

    Leuk om je verslag te lezen. Heel veel plezier !

  • 26 September 2016 - 19:53

    Riet:

    Ha die Lotte,
    Een week van oriënteren, lummelen en beetje wegwijs worden in jouw tijdelijke woonomgeving. Yes, ik weet dat de Ieren veel humor hebben. Ik raad je aan ook een keer naar Ierse pub en guiness te drinken. Gegarandeerd heb je snel leuk contact.
    Wij zijn nog druk bezig met zoeken naar chalet, veel naar Zeeland gereden. Ook nog steeds in de orientatiefase.
    Veel plezier en ontdekkingen en tot volgend blog

  • 26 September 2016 - 21:26

    Marieke:

    Dat kasteel ziet er wel uit of het elk moment uit elkaar kan vallen, haha... Have fun daar!

  • 27 September 2016 - 16:35

    Lobke :

    Hee Lotte,

    Jij verveelt je geen moment zo te lezen!!! :) wat leuk!!!!!!!!!
    en wat een super gave foto's! en wat een mooie ruime kamer heb je!


    Thanks voor je berichtje! We gaan op korte termijn maar ff wat plannen goed? Je moet me ook alweer ff zeggen: vanuit Eindhoven was in nederland minder reizen, maar dan moest ik vanaf t vliegveld langer reizen naar jou? maar ik kon ook in nederland vliegveld wat wat verder weg lag, maar dan was t daar korter bij jou? haha. Maar ff contacten wat je me aanraadt.

    xxxxxxxxxxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lotte

Nog een keertje als au-pair werken! Dit keer gaat het in Malow, Ierland gebeuren. Van 13 september 2016 tot min. maart 2017.

Actief sinds 08 Sept. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 376
Totaal aantal bezoekers 15374

Voorgaande reizen:

13 September 2016 - 13 Maart 2017

Au-pair in Mallow

Landen bezocht: